Contact partner

Dr. Winter Johannes

Johannes Winter

Leiter Themenschwerpunkt Technologien

T: +49 (0)89/52 03 09-14

Press contact

 Uhlhaas Christoph

Christoph Uhlhaas

Leiter Kommunikation
acatech Geschäftsstelle

T: +49 (0)89/52 03 09-60


Further Information

German project page 

Industrie 4.0

Project status:


Project period:

11/2012 to 05/2013

Towards the fourth industrial age

In April 2013, the working group Industrie 4.0 presented a set of policy recommendations to chancellor Angela Merkel. This final report lists requirements necessary for the step into the fourth industrial age.


Based on these recommendations, the platform Industrie 4.0 has been launched by the associations BITKOM, VDMA and ZVEI. The platform wants to develop Germany as a global market leader offering the most production technology.


Coordinated by acatech, an academic advisory panel accompanies the platform work. The panel is made up of experts in production sciences, automation, informatics, law and socieology. The speaker of the advisory council also acts as a member of the platform's steering group.


Final report of the working group Industrie 4.0 (accessible)

Japanese Version of the final report


Participants of working group Industrie 4.0

Participants of working group Industrie 4.0


Dr. Siegfried Dais, Robert Bosch GmbH
Prof. Dr. Henning Kagermann, acatech

Speakers of working groups
AG 1 – Die Smart Factory
Dr. Manfred Wittenstein, Wittenstein AG
AG 2 – Das reale Umfeld
Prof. Dr. Siegfried Russwurm, Siemens AG
AG 3 – Das wirtschaftliche Umfeld
Dr. Stephan Fischer, SAP AG
AG 4 – Mensch und Arbeit
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wahlster, DFKI
AG 5 – Der Faktor Technologie
Dr. Heinz Derenbach, Bosch Software Innovations GmbH

Participants of economy
Dr. Reinhold Achatz, ThyssenKrupp AG
Dr. Heinrich Arnold, Deutsche Telekom AG
Dr. Klaus Dräger, BMW AG
Dr. Johannes Helbig, Deutsche Post DHL AG
Dr. Wolfram Jost, Software AG
Dr. Peter Leibinger, TRUMPF GmbH & Co. KG
Dr. Reinhard Ploss, Infineon Technologies AG
Volker Smid, Hewlett-Packard GmbH
Dr. Thomas Weber, Daimler AG
Dr. Eberhard Veit, Festo AG & Co. KG
Dr. Christian Zeidler, ABB Ltd.

Participants of science
Prof. Dr. Reiner Anderl, TU Darmstadt
Prof. Dr. Thomas Bauernhansl, Fraunhofer-Institut IPA
Prof. Dr. Michael Beigl, KIT
Prof. Dr. Manfred Broy, TU München
Prof. Dr. Werner Damm, Universität Oldenburg / Offis
Prof. Dr. Jürgen Gausemeier, Universität Paderborn
Prof. Dr. Otthein Herzog, Jacobs University Bremen
Prof. Dr. Fritz Klocke, RWTH Aachen / WZL
Prof. Dr. Gunther Reinhart, TU München
Prof. Dr. Bernd Scholz-Reiter, BIBA

Research Unions & Associations
Dr. Bernhard Diegner, ZVEI
Rainer Glatz, VDMA
Prof. Dieter Kempf, BITKOM
Prof. Dr. Gisela Lanza, WBK, KIT
Dr. Karsten Ottenberg, Giesecke & Devrient GmbH
Prof. Dr. August Wilhelm Scheer, Scheer Group
Dieter Schweer, BDI
Ingrid Sehrbrock, DGB
Prof. Dr. Dieter Spath, Fraunhofer IAO
Prof. Dr. Ursula M. Staudinger, Jacobs University Bremen

Dr. Andreas Goerdeler, BMWi
Prof. Dr. Wolf-Dieter Lukas, BMBF
Ingo Ruhmann, BMBF
Dr. Alexander Tettenborn, BMWi
Dr. Clemens Zielonka, BMBF

Authors of the final report

Authors of the final report


Team of authors 

Klaus Bauer, Trumpf Werkzeugmaschinen GmbH & Co. KG
Dr. Bernhard Diegner, ZVEI
Johannes Diemer, Hewlett-Packard GmbH
Wolfgang Dorst, BITKOM
Dr. Stefan Ferber, Bosch Software Innovations GmbH
Rainer Glatz, VDMA
Ariane Hellinger, acatech
Dr. Werner Herfs, RWTH Aachen / WZL
Marion Horstmann, Siemens AG
Dr. Thomas Kaufmann, Infineon Technologies AG

Christian Kobsda, acatech
Dr. Constanze Kurz, IG Metall
Dr. Ulrich Löwen, Siemens AG
Veronika Stumpf, acatech


Chapter 5.4 Safety and Security
Matthias Brucke, OFFIS Institut für Informatik
Jürgen Niehaus, SafeTRANS – Safety in Transportation Systems


Chapter 5.7 Regulatory Framework
Prof. Dr. Gerrit Hornung, Universität Passau
Kai Hofmann, Universität Passau


Dr. Kurt D. Bettenhausen, Siemens AG
Dr. Kerstin Geiger, SAP AG
Jörg Heuer, Telekom AG
Dr. Günter Hörcher, Fraunhofer-Institut IPA
Petra Köpfer-Behncke, SAP AG
Jörn Lehmann, VDMA
Dr. Katja Patzwaldt, Jacobs University Bremen
Steven Peters, WBK, KIT
Dr. Harald Schöning, Software AG
Joachim Seidelmann, Fraunhofer-Institut IPA
Prof. Dr. Ursula M. Staudinger, Jacobs UniversityBremen


Other authors of the working groups
Vinay Aggarwal, Deutsche Telekom AG
Mathias Anbuhl, DGB
Dr. Dietmar Dengler, DFKI
Ulrich Doll, Homag Holzbearbeitungssysteme GmbH
Dr. Gerhard Hammann, TRUMPF Werkzeugmaschinen GmbH + Co. KG
Andreas Haubelt, TRUMPF Werkzeugmaschinen GmbH + Co. KG
Dirk Hilgenberg, BMW AG
Bernd Kärcher, Festo AG & Co.KG
Dr. Alassane Ndiaye, DFKI
Dr. Detlef Pauly, Siemens AG
Tobias Philipp, IWB
Dr. Heinz-Jürgen Prokop, TRUMPF Werkzeugmaschinen GmbH & Co. KG
Michael Wetzel, Daimler AG


„Our Economy is on the threshold to a fourth industrial evolution. The project Industrie 4.0 provides a chance to shape this and secure a high level of prosperity in Germany. Research can help improve production infrastructure.


Johanna Wanka, Federal Minister of Education and Research 




„The factory of the future combines a huge amount of flexibility with an optimal use of resources. Industry 4.0 provides a chance for Germany to strenghten our role as producer and supplier of Business-IT. It is encouraging to see that alle stakeholders starting to act in close collaboartion in the Platform Industrie 4.0“


Henning Kagermann, Preisdent of acatech and co-chair of the Platform Industrie 4.0




Participating industry sectors